Desensitized

Image

     What has happened to so many people we know.  We turn on the television and view naked bodies,another brutal killing,another horrid story on the news(seems the news is only bad news anyways),thousands killed by a natural disasters, on and on.  I bet you get where I am going with this. We express sadness,shock,sensuality, for a minute and then continue on to our normal routines.

     I cannot stress how much I hate this and I am a woman on a mission.  Years ago I worked hard on making all my senses come alive in a good way.  I could listen better, I could fall into a dreamy state at a lover’s touch, I could deeply empathize with victims and their families and would bow my head and pray for them.  I could stop and smell a lovely scented candle and truly appreciate it.  I could look at a tree for an hour admiring it’s natural beauty. I could listen to a thunder storm and imagine the works of God through the thunder and the lightening.  I would taste a lovely Filet and I would eat slowly, appreciating the flavor and the preparation.

    Then slowly I once again became somewhat desensitized.  I realized it was easier when watching the news.  My prayers became quicker for those suffering.  I grew tired of listening to the problems of others, I chose to call it drama, and mind you, a lot of it was but still lost my focus on their voices.  I grew tired of reaching out and asking for affection and soon stopped.  When I was touched, it simply was not the same. My mind did not process it like it used to.  After dieting for many months my taste buds grew dull.

    Let’s be honest here, I was once again totally unaware that I was taking these senses for granted. Time to fess up and wake up.  I wanted to be the woman I set out to be years ago.  So this is my mission and this is my song! Would you like to come along?  Are you ready to slow down and smell those roses, touch those petals and thorns, listen to those bird sing their love songs, sit on the beach and be in awe of the thundering waves and magnificent  colors.  I call it Living Out Loud.  This is my prayer, this is my Mission once again.

 

About ladylouwolf

I am a saint and a sinner, a lover and a fighter, a true believer with great desire.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Desensitized

  1. Pingback: Desensitized | Ladylouwolf

Leave a comment